Thank goodness for ice packs

Breathe a big sigh of relief, I did it!  I made it through day one of the triple shots!  I had a little trouble falling asleep last night, then once I did fall asleep I did not sleep well.  I got up at 6:20 (C had already been up for about an hour) to get the shots ready to go.  I laid out the Lupron bottle and its syringe, the Gonal-F pen, the syringe to transfer it to and an extra needle, the two bottles of Menopur powder, one bottle of sodium chloride and another syringe, and five or six alcohol swabs.  Seeing it all like that was a little astonishing.  Then I got started.  I first filled the five units of Lupron as that was the easiest.  The I put the “Q-cap” on a syringe and started mixing the Menopur, I had a little trouble here because there was a lot of extra air pressure in the bottle and I couldn’t get one full mL into the syringe.  I finally got that to work, mixing it with the two bottles of powder was easy.  On to the Gonal-F!  This one I was a little unsure of because I had to transfer the medicine from the pen to a syringe – it was easier then I thought.  I just set the dose to 450, pulled out the plunger and inserted the syringe to pull all of the liquid out.  All three shots were then ready to go.  I started with the Lupron which I do in the abdomen because I knew it would be quick and easy, of course it hurt a little this time, but no problem.  I forgot to mention, while I was getting all of this ready, I had stuck an ice pack in the back of my pants to hopefully numb my butt where the other shots will go.  Now it was time for the scary shots with the big needles!  I pulled the ice pack out and wiped the area with an alcohol swab, it felt a little numb.  Good!  Then I went to find a mirror so I could see what I was doing.   I took the Menopur, made sure there were no air bubbles and went to stick it in.  I did it – I didn’t feel it!  Then the part I hate almost as much as the initial stick – pulling the plunger back gently to make sure there is no blood.  No blood, so I pushed the liquid in.  No problem, it went smoothly!  There was a little drop of blood, but I wanted to move quickly before I was no longer numb, so I picked a new spot and stuck in the Gonal-F.  I didn’t feel the needle go in at all, but when I pushed in the medicine it hurt ever so slightly.  It was done!  I ran quick to get the gauze pads to stop the bleeding.  C was right there by my side the whole time, watching me closely with his loving gaze, disposing of the needles for me as I finished each shot.  I am glad he was here for the first one.   It was a relief when it was over, I was tired so I crawled back into bed.  My body needed the rest and I can’t tell if I am suffering from a little allergies or fighting off the start of a cold – I keep telling myself it is the former rather than the latter.  I will take it easy all week and pay close attention to what my body tells me so nothing gets in the way of the retrieval and transfer in the next two weeks.

If I could give one piece of advice for administering the IM shots, it is definitely the ice pack!  I was so glad I couldn’t feel that big needle go in.  I feel it now, it is a little sore and feels like I was stuck with two big needles, but I will take this over any pain at injection time.  One down, seven to nine more to go!  Off to get some more rest.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    egghunt said,

    Just lurking in to say that I too am a big fan of the ice pack. Its amazingly better when things are numb, especially when you’re injecting yourself. Things along this journey are generaly really really hard so when you find something (no matter how small) that makes it little bit easier its a huge comfort. Good luck!!!

  2. 3

    ML said,

    Thanks for sharing. I’m glad you’ve got the first one down.
    Good for you for taking care of your body. It’s the most important thing you can do right now.

  3. 4

    myndful said,

    Yeah! Congrats on getting it done! That had to have been so intimidating. You should feel super proud of yourself! And I think it’s great that you’re planning to take it easy and stay tuned into your body during this. Anything to ensure it all works in the end, right? And soon, the shots will be over. Hopefully, you’ll never have to do them again after this cycle. At least not for baby #1. 🙂

    • 5

      Thanks for the support! It was intimidating, but not as bad I thought it would be. I thank you for your kind words, comments and support. I have no friends who are going or have gone through this, so it’s nice to find someone who understands exactly what I am going through. Thanks!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

