One Week Down

So here are, after what seemed an eternity of delays and problems, one week into my injections.  I was on the birth control pill for just over four weeks, and started Lupron injections on September 15th.  It is a little nerve-wracking going to insert that needle the first time.  I don’t have an aversion to needles, I’m not saying I love them, but getting shots or blood drawn doesn’t really bother me; sticking yourself is a whole other thing!  I carefully measure out 20 units of liquid in the syringe just as they showed me at the doctor’s office, clean off my abdomen with the alcohol wipe, pick up the syringe and prepare to jab it in – WAIT!  Can I do this?  I did it, it was easier than I thought and really didn’t hurt.  Thank goodness!  But now even with eight shots under my belt (no pun intended!) I hesitate each time before sticking the needle in.  These are the easy ones; I have a box full plus half a shelf in the fridge of medications that are intramuscular (IM) injections.  OUCH!  I am already nervous about starting these next rounds of shots.

Leave a Reply

